LANY – Malibu Nights Review

Wow. If I had one word to describe LANY’s new album, Malibu Nights, it would be wow. Thankfully I am allowed more than one word so let’s dive in.

 

We knew what to expect from Malibu Nights since the release of “Thru These Tears” in June, but I never imagined it would be this deep. The majority of break up albums are mostly big middle fingers at their ex, but this one is different. Malibu Night shows the side of a breakup a lot of artists don’t write about. Lead Singer Paul Klein pours himself into these lyrics and gives us such a deep look into what he was dealing with during this time. This album is just full of raw emotion.

 

Sparked by a break up with Dua Lipa in January of this year, Paul took a hiatus from social media for a couple months and spent that time writing. Not every song on this album is about Lipa, but their breakup did spark him to release all his emotions on to paper and write this beautiful work of art.

 

It is impossible to listen to this album and not want to cry. Starting with “Thick and Thin” which is basically portraying the breakup and his state right afterward, and then the progression through the album almost tells a story. To the point where, by the time you get through the album and make it to “Malibu Nights”, last song on the album, you’re so emotionally shook you don’t know what to do with yourself.

 

“Taking Me Back” and “If You See Her” are both songs where he is crying out to the girl begging for her back. He opens himself up and becomes completely vulnerable and really says how he feels and lets the girl know he needs her back. When you get to “I Don’t Wanna Love You Anymore,” “Let Me Know,” “Run” and “Valentine’s Day” you really begin to notice the progression from the first three songs. Where it goes from him missing her and wanting her back, to now he’s trying to get over her and is working at forgetting her. Obviously, from the songs, it is harder than he expects and in all three of these songs, he fails to get over her.

 

Which leads to a perfect transition into the final two songs, “Thru These Tears” and “Malibu Nights.” It’s here when, after all, is said and done, he’s tried everything to get over her, and now the last thing to do is just be sad. Just accept that she’s gone and to let himself be sad. Acknowledging that getting over a relationship doesn’t happen overnight and it will take time.

 

This is a beautiful masterpiece and I couldn’t ask for anything better. LANY outdid themselves this time, and I know music fans everywhere appreciate them for becoming vulnerable and putting their feelings and struggles out there for the world to see. We thank you.

Advertisements

The 1975 Single Review’s

Screen Shot 2018-09-20 at 12.09.11 PM

The 1975 have released four singles from their upcoming album, A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships, and Matty continues to amaze us. There is a distinct transition, both lyrically and instrumentally, from each 1975 album to the next. These singles get deep, addressing major issues such as, anxiety, politics, and being truly intimate with people, there should be no shortage of feels with this upcoming album.

Their first release off the album was, Give Yourself A Try. This song address’ multiple issues such as, being afraid to show your true self, and being truly happy with who you are. He talks about things that us as a society, him included, try and use to find happiness when if we just, as cliché as it sounds, give ourselves a try and be our true selves then we will be truly happy. Referencing old songs such as Sex and A Change of Heart, Matty does a great job at allowing their fans to draw a connection to past songs and how he has matured as a writer and a person.

Screen Shot 2018-09-20 at 12.10.22 PM.png

Love It If We Made It, was the second release and this one is special with Matty, as he usually does, getting very political. In this song, he addresses major issues such as race relations, mass incarceration, and Donald Trump. These are not low-key jabs either, he addresses them head-on with full force. Using lines such as, “Suffocate the black man” to address how African American’s are treated in the US. The amount of talent you must possess to get political and address controversial topics, while still having the song flow is mind-blowing. Matty does this very well.

TOOTIMETOOTIMETOOTIME is a different song from what we’re usually used to. It has more of a dance song vibe to it and uses beats that we don’t usually hear in a 1975 song. On top of the deep lyrics, this song is just straight up fun. If this song came on in the club everyone would be dancing. Although it is about a relationship gone south, it’s not a depressing song. The song is about an unfaithful relationship and how social media and technology played a role in the downfall. In it, he seems to poke fun at our modern culture and how the internet ruins relationships.

Their latest release definitely has the most meaning to me personally. Sincerity Is Scary, address how in this modern era being sincere and putting yourself out there is scary. Matty talks about how when you pursue true intimacy with someone it can end in pain, and in this society showing pain is frowned upon. He mentions things such as children, and how we’re afraid to have children out of fear of “growing old” when in reality we will grow old whether we have children or not. I believe this is their best song they have released from the album. It addresses topics that most people don’t talk about because they’re scary. It’s scary to talk about intimacy, or the lack thereof, in the society we’re a part of.

If these four songs were all we got from The 1975 then I wouldn’t be complaining, but luckily we get a whole album. The depth to each one and how well they’re composed is truly a work of art. I cannot wait to see what is on the rest of this album. A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships is set to release November 30, no other singles have been confirmed yet, but I wouldn’t be surprised if we get at least one more. But for now, we wait.

The Band Camino Interview

the band camino

The Band CAMINO—consisting of Jeffery Jordan, Spencer Stewart, and Graham Rowel—has been making a lot of noise in the music industry lately and for good reason. They are one of the most lyrical and melodic bands I have heard in a while, but they do it in such a unique way. They confront and talk about real problems and heartbreak but in an upbeat way that doesn’t make you feel super sad when listening to it. Forming in college the band has managed to become a household name within the Alternative music world by staying true to their 80s rock inspired sound that has attracted so many loyal fans. Gaining a lot of notoriety with the release of their new single “Daphne Blue,” which cracked the Spotify Viral US Top 50, making it one of their most successful songs to date. On top of that, Taylor Swift recently added their song “Bernstein” to her “Songs Taylor loves” playlist on Spotify, giving them a lot of recognition from the playlist’s 200,000 followers. You can catch The Band CAMINO at one of their four remaining headlining shows this month, or on tour this fall with Ben Rector!

 

You guys met at the University of Memphis, how did you all meet each other there and what sparked you guys to start a band together?

Technically the band formed in college, but Graham was actually playing with Jeff in a country band before that. Spencer knew Graham from high school theater. When Jeff and Graham decided to start making music that wouldn’t fall into the category of country, we started playing with Spencer and The Band Camino was formed. The first song we wrote and played as a band was “Young”.

 

What has been the coolest experience so far as a band?

There’s not one thing, specifically. It’s more just looking back over the growth we’ve made as a band. Sure, there are some shows that stick out, but the coolest part is going back to cities and we have more fans, more fans that sing the words back to us, things like that.

 

Where do you get your inspiration from when writing songs?

Life experience. General life observation. It’s easy to write in this generation because people are continually putting their own personal stories out there for others to see.

 

So Camino is Spanish for “Path.” What made y’all think of the name, The Band CAMINO, and what is the meaning behind it?

We had a song we really wanted to put out and needed a band name last minute. Graham saw an El Camino one day and liked how it sounded. We eventually landed on The Band Camino and it’s grown on us more over time.

 

What is each of y’all’s favorite song y’all have released and why?

Spencer: “I Spend Too Much Time In My Room” for sure. It was the first one I was really proud of sonically.

Graham: “California”. I’ve always loved the energy of it and it reminds me of a certain moment in time in the band’s history.

Jeffery: “My Thoughts on You”. It’s my favorite to sing lyrically and melodically.

 

If you could pick one band to tour with, who would it be and why?

Spencer: Phoebe Bridgers

Graham: John Mayer

Jeffery: Taylor Swift

 

Who in the music industry has been the biggest help in mentoring you guys?

Our manager, Jameson Roper. His work ethic and guidance is inspiring. He believes in what we’re trying to do.

 

What is the biggest piece of advice you would give someone who was trying to start up in the music industry?

Be a nice person. Don’t be afraid to be who you are. Don’t let your own ambition scare you. Find people that believe in what you’re doing.

 

Should we be expecting any more new songs soon?

Yes! Heading into the studio in late August.

 

 

 

Keep up with The Band CAMINO on Twitter and Instagram

Wilderado Interview

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I had the immense pleasure of talking with Maxim Rainer, of Wilderado, and it was one of the best conversations I’ve had. After seeing them live I knew I had to interview them. Any band that performs with that amount of passion and emotional vulnerability automatically has my heart. Consisting of, Maxim Rainer, Colton Dearing, Tyler Wimpee, and Justin Kila this Tulsa based group of dudes have created an Alternative sound that is something special.

Five minutes into my conversation with Maxim I could immediately tell I was talking to a guy who truly loved music. “I wanted to start a band with people who wanted to sing songs, not so much be professional musicians.” That comment alone perfectly describes what Wilderado is about. They put so much work into each individual song to the point where each one has a special meaning, “My inspiration when writing songs is wanting to reveal something to myself.” Maxim explains. Each song he writes is so introspective that he has to be alone when writing, he even admits to himself and explains to me that he’s not strong enough to write around other people, “it’s hard to be introspective and honest with myself when someone else is listening.” This shows you just how personal his lyrics get. He pours himself out into his lyrics, he doesn’t want to even have the risk of not being truthful in his songs, “It’s too hard to not tilt towards whoever is listening to you [when writing].”

To give you even a deeper look into what they’re truly about, I asked him if he could choose one band to tour with who would it be, “Opening for Coldplay would be pretty crazy, I don’t think we would say no, but opening for The National would be just so tight.” Mat Berninger being one of his favorite songwriters, “After getting off with RKS, there is something about playing to a crowd who is there to see a band who they know all of their songs, as opposed to playing arenas where most of the people there are there because they know a hit.” Once again showing me that they really are all about the music.

This is one reason why they are so excited about ACL (Austin City Limits). To be surrounded by people who are there to appreciate the music and to hear bands is the dream. As a listener, I know how amazing this is, and I can only imagine how it feels being a band in an atmosphere like this. On top of all that, having it so close to home for them makes it that much more special, “Being Oklahoma and Texas boys that’s the cool thing in the music industry, in our region.”

A big thing for them that he realized on this tour was that people didn’t know their name on the bill but when they started their performance people knew their songs. Explaining that the main goal of having people listen to and like their songs is being accomplished but wondering now how to have their name register within people. “I wonder now what’s the translation from hearing a tune, to understanding and knowing the band.” Maxim explains. I know this happens to me a lot, where I love a song but don’t necessarily pay attention to who’s singing it until I happen to see them live one day. That’s the next challenge for them, they already have people listening to their music but to get people to the point, that when a song of theirs is played people automatically think of Wilderado. “The only way to get there is to just keep making music” he explains, “that’s what was cool about being out with Rainbow Kitten, that’s what they’ve done. They’ve just so abided to this philosophy of, put out music and tour it. And after six years and now this year, where I mean every place we went with them they were filling out venues with rabid fans.” Seeing someone else, who now they are really close with, get to where they are by doing it this way gives them such hope that it can be done. In my opinion, they aren’t that far away from just blowing up. After the show I saw, everybody I talked to afterward loved Wilderado. They couldn’t stop talking about them. One of my friends even said she was mad at herself for not knowing their songs because it was such a great performance she wanted to be able to appreciate more by singing along with their songs.

Everyone that was at that show loved Wilderado and are excited to see where the future takes them! Here are their remaining shows for the year. You do not want to miss out on seeing such a great band!

Taylor Janzen Interview

Taylor Janzen 159.jpg

Interview by Reese Gorman

 

Rising artist Taylor Janzen from Winnipeg, Canada is set to release her first EP, Interpersonal, on August 10, and man is it something special. Growing up using music as an outlet she sings with such passion and depth to her lyrics. Each song on this EP will leave you speechless. I can’t wait to see her become a household name. Only with two songs out right now she already has had some serious recognition, from New York Times featuring her in an article to Hailey Williams of Paramore tweeting with and about her. If you asked me I would say this is just the start of a very successful career for Taylor Janzen.

 

 

When did you realize you could use music as an outlet as opposed to talking through everything?

 

I’ve always gravitated towards music in general just as something I was in love with, and I’ve always had very strong emotions towards things, and when I realized gradually that music could be not only the thing that I love but also the thing that could help me articulate my-self, that was definitely a huge thing. It was more of a gradual thing, and it happened quite early on. I wouldn’t say there was a specific moment but there was definitely a gradual realization.

 

Was there any artist or band growing up that you sought out, that inspired you and made you fall in love with music?

 

I’ve always really been in love with music, my first real music experience was Avril Lavigne, and I thought she was so cool. My first favorite band was Paramore they were one of the first bands I listened to that articulated their struggles and their angst. The first artist I listened to and thought, “this is what I want to make,” was probably TORRES when I was about grade 10 or 11. I knew I wanted to do music but I didn’t know what that would look like for me, and I saw TORRES out there doing the singer/songwriter stuff but also being able to go all out with a band and being able to mend those two together and I was like, “that’s what I want to do eventually.” I didn’t even like singer/songwriter music before I listened to TORRES and once I started listening to her I was like, ‘alright sick, this is actually really cool’ and now I’m a singer/songwriter.

 

You mentioned Paramore, how cool is it that Hailey Williams has reached out to you and how has that inspired you knowing that she listens to your music?

 

Yeah, that’s so crazy. I remember seeing Paramore and being like, “wow she’s exactly who she wants to be” and that is so inspiring to watch. Cause it makes you feel that you can also do it, just seeing a woman on stage that’s not afraid of her loudness was such a huge thing for me to see. Just the fact that she has listened to anything I would ever make is a lot.

 

Reese: That’s probably a crazy feeling

 

Taylor: Yeah, yeah. Very overwhelming in a good way

 

On your upcoming EP if you could pick one, what is your favorite song on there?

I would say the one that is closest to me would probably be a song on there called, Colourblind. It is the one that I was most scared of when I first wrote it. Because I wrote it and I was like, “well shit I can’t just not play this” and I looked at it and was really proud of the way I was able to articulate this subject because it wasn’t something I had previously been able to do. Also, at the same time I knew that it was really heavy and now that it was written I couldn’t just not play it. I would put it on my set list and then take it off last minuet once I got to it. So, it was like the scariest song, and now it’s usually the song that gets the most reaction out of people now that I play it regularly. Which is so cool how that the songs that you’re the most scared of are the ones that get the best reaction. That’s how it ended up working and now I’m excited for people to have it that maybe haven’t heard it live. So yeah, it’s the song that I’m most scared of but also most excited for.

 

How does it feel knowing that people listen to your music and can relate to it, knowing that you’re writing about things either that you went through or are going through.

 

That’s probably honestly the coolest part, because I write music for me. That’s always been the purpose behind it. I write music for myself in order to figure out a way to articulate things, but I’m also aware that there are people who don’t know how to articulate their emotions. It’s really a tough thing to learn. I was put into therapy at a really young age and that engrained a lot into my brain about how to articulate myself. So, I write them for myself but I would say I put them out for other people, so that maybe it can be an aide to someone being able to articulate what they’re feeling.

 

So, The New York Times did a piece on, Waiting Room. What was that like seeing such a huge publication feature one of your first releases in one of their articles?

 

Oh, it was crazy. It was technically my first song that I put out properly. I was not expecting any sort of reaction. It was so weird cause I sat there, and I read it and was like, “I wrote this in my bedroom when I was like 17.” When I wrote it, I didn’t think that this was gonna be featured in The New York Times eventually, I just wrote it. It’s also weird because I remember when I wrote it I was in the middle of writing a completely different song and I just started messing around on the guitar and I came up with a guitar line, and in my head, I had this internal war with myself where I was like, “I’m in the middle of writing something else this isn’t gonna go anywhere.” I remember feeling that I needed to follow that guitar line and write that song. Because sometimes you get an idea and you don’t follow it, and I almost didn’t write it because I was pre-occupied at that moment. But I’m glad I ended up writing it because it became one of my favorite songs that I have. It’s just crazy to me that I almost didn’t write it at all.

 

The album was mastered by Greg Calbi who is crazy big, working with bands like The National, Kings of Leon and Paul McCartney. What was that like working with him?

 

So, I recorded the EP with my friend Shane at home in Winnipeg. He [Shane] mixed it and everything, that was my first time working with another person and that was so crazy. Then when we both found out that Greg was gonna master it we both were freaking out. Because he is so respected and so awesome and worked on so many of my favorite records, and just to have him involved with anything that I’m doing was so mind-blowing. The Waiting Room was actually recorded in my basement by myself that wasn’t even recorded with Shane. I was a little bit embarrassed, I remember being like, “Shoot, Greg Calbi is going to listen to my basement recording.” I just feel so honored to have someone like that involved in my project.

 

So right now, who are some of your favorite artists/bands?

 

I’ve never completely dove into one genre, I’ve always just chased inspiration and things from a bunch of different genres. A record that I always go back to, I was actually listening to it on the bus today, is, Catch For Us The Foxes, by Me Before You. I feel like that would be a record you would have to be in a specific mood for but like I’m always in the mood for that record. I’ve also been addicted to the new Now Now record, and Phoebe Bridges, I just saw her at Winnipeg Folk Fest. I’ve been a fan of her since she released her first EP, so I’m a longtime fan and I got to see her for the first time this month and it was incredible, and now I can’t stop listening to her.

 

Is it ever hard writing music that’s so personal to you and knowing that the whole world will hear it?

 

In some ways yes. But I have this thing were I’m very rarely embarrassed of giving to much information about myself. It’s weird, but I think I’m more usually scared of music snobs and that somebody will say I’m not good at playing music, which I feel that sometimes I’m not so it freaks me out a little bit. I think with this EP I’ve been freaked out a lot because of the nature of what I’m writing about. The first time I release a demo on Bandcamp it was all about myself and all very introspective. Where this one is specifically focusing on interpersonal relationships, and once you start writing about other people that’s when you have to start answering to other people. But I’m getting more comfortable with it the more that I do it.

 

Do you have any tours or concert dates lined up for this year?

 

Not yet, I’m working on it. I have some local show but that’s it so far.

 

Reese: If you could choose one venue to perform at what would it be?

 

Taylor: Actually, I really want to play at the Burton Cummings Theater in Winnipeg. Because I love that venue so much, it’s something I grew up going to and it would be the coolest thing to be able to play it myself. The acoustics are incredible in there. There’s just so many local venues that I grew up going to that I would love to play. It’s weird because of course I would love, and it’s a dream to play all these different venues in other cities that are huge and gorgeous, and that’s definitely something I’m working towards. I think it’s just a personal thing to be able to play a venue I grew up going to

 

 

 

Keep up with Taylor Janzen on Twitter & Instagram

Eaux Claires

Screen Shot 2018-07-13 at 7.51.56 PM

I recently had the amazing opportunity of being apart of the coolest experience of my life. The Eaux Claires music festival hosted by Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, and Aaron Dessner of The National was truly a work of art. The lineup included names such as The National, Gordi, Julian Baker, S. Carey, Phoebe Bridges, and Big Red Machine, Justin Vernon, and Aaron Dessner’s new project. Big Red Machine was put together by the two friends and have released five songs as of now and they are something special.

This festival was all about the music and letting it reach you, they wanted you to feel how the artist intended you to feel when they wrote the songs. From stages in the woods to random pop up shows all over the festival it was truly the coolest experience of my life. On top of all that just being around people who have the same interest and taste in music as you do is the greatest feeling in the world. Everyone at this festival truly appreciated music. It wasn’t a drunk college fest or fashion show like so many of the mainstream music festivals have sadly become. These were true music lovers and it was great.

One of the most beautiful performances of the week was Gordi. She has been one of my favorite artists for some time, as of now she isn’t very well known but I promise you she is going to be absolutely huge. I can’t even begin to describe how deep her performance was. Singing songs such as Heaven I know, and Can We Work it out, from her album, Resivoir and seeing her with such grit stand up and just let all her emotions out and leave it all on the stage was special to watch. There is just something so powerful about watching an artist who isn’t just making music to satisfy a label perform for you and see their love for the songs that they write. Every song she performed you can see in her body language and hear it in her voice just how much she truly cared about the words she was singing.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Gordi performing at Eaux Claires

The National was the headliner at this festival and man were they something special. I have never and I mean never seen someone get so into their performance as Matt Berninger. At one point I kid you not he was on the ground on his knees screaming the lyrics to The Day I Die, and it was beautiful. The last song performed was, Vanderlye Crybaby Geeks, but there was a twist to it. Instead of Matt singing the song and the band performing it, all they had was Aaron Dessner on acoustic guitar and the microphones facing the crowd and we sang it. To hear that many fans singing this song together was so heartwarming. The fact that The National thought to do that shows how much they truly appreciate their fans.

Another amazing performance was Big Red Machine. This is a new project created by Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon. This being their first time performing live as a band they did not disappoint. Having not released a single one of their songs on Spotify or Apple Music before this concert, they played all new songs for us and I loved it. They are both amazing performers. Justin Vernon’s lyrics mixed with his amazing voice makes for the best music. They are set to release their full-length album later this month after releasing their EP just moments after this performance.

IMG_2307
Justin Vernon performing with Big Red Machine

To any music lovers that have the chance to go, I would one-hundred percent recommend going. Wisconsin may not be close but it was totally worth the drive from Oklahoma! Every experience I had, from the drive to the camping to the music was a great one. I cannot wait for Eaux Claires 2019, and you better bet I’ll be there for a long time to come.

 

Song Recommendations:

Gratitude – Big Red Machine

Can We Work It Out – Gordi

Empty – Ray LaMontagne

 

 

Spotify: Reese Gorman

Instagram: reeseg3

Twitter: 3_gorman

joan

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 4.58.18 PM

joan is an up and coming band from Little Rock, Arkansas that you have to keep your eyes on. Composed of Alan Thomas and Steven Rutherford, they are starting to make a splash in the Alternative music world. They already have some hit songs with the likes of, love somebody like you and tokyo. That if you haven’t already listened to, I recommend you do.

Their sound is very unique, it kind of has this retro 80s vibe to it and I really dig it. They kind of remind me almost of a mix between LANY and COIN, who they did a tour with last summer in Texas.  The tour with COIN really helped them get their names out there and had people hear how good they are. It also helps that joan is one of those bands where you hear them once, whether it be live or on Spotify, and you can’t stop listening to them because they’re just so good and that catchy.

In an interview with Honey Punch Magazine, they tell how they became a band and it’s a pretty cool story. So they both went to church together and did worship music but at the time when they met they were both in different bands, Steven in “Brothers + Company”(which actually has some really good songs one of them being, Forever Love) and Alan in “Canopy Climbers”.  They decided to form their own band and pursue music together. They wrote a few songs and had a soft release of their song “take me on” that took off. They weren’t planning on anything like that happening that soon,  and after being pleasantly surprised they contacted a label and signed a single deal with them.

The band has some great mentors in the music world to help them get to where they want to be. Jake Goss of LANY is a good friend of theirs and is always there to help them out in whatever way possible, Alan even said that he sent Jake a mix of their new single to get his feedback on it. Ryan of COIN has also been really good to them ever since they toured with them last summer.

joan is looking to have a big summer, they already have a new song that they are featured on, “Like it Or Not” by EMBRZ, that came out about a week ago. They also have a concert planned with The Band Camino in their hometown of Little Rock, Arkansas.

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 5.00.15 PM

If you haven’t heard their music yet I highly suggest you go listen. Every one of their songs has meaning behind it and you can tell they put time and effort behind the lyrics. My personal favorite song of theirs is, i loved you first, it is such a relatable song as is the rest of their songs. I love bands like joan, they start from the bottom and make great music out of passion and grit and work their way to the top. It’s bands like this that keep the music industry alive.

 

Song Recommendations:

hold on – flor

Don’t Give In – Snow Patrol

Amen – Amber Run

 

 

Spotify: Reese Gorman

Instagram: reeseg3

Twitter: 3_gorman